Periphery Announce New Album “Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre” – Release TWO Singles

Ryan Murray | Co-Owner | Chief Editor | Contributor

Progressive metal outfit Periphery have announced the release of their new album “Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre”, a follow up to their 2019 release ‘Periphery IV: Hail Stan’. The album will release on March 10th via the band’s label 3DOT Recordings!

Periphery, the D.C. born band has been nominated twice for a Grammy, and has seen each of their last four albums debut in the Top 25 of Billboard’s album charts. Known for their explosive style, technical prowess, and addictive melodies, this new release promises to be their best yet.

On the new album, Mark Holcomb has said “We spent more time on Periphery V than any other release in our history. We challenged and pushed ourselves harder, and along the way we grew even closer as a band. We are so proud of the final results! I also wanted to mention how exceedingly grateful we are to our fans for being so patient in waiting for this record. We wanted to show our appreciation by giving you two songs today instead of one. We have a very busy 2023 and 2024 planned so we’ll see you on the road!” 

Misha Mansoor echoes Holcomb’s sentiment: “I’m really proud of the material and it was certainly a labor of love and a tough album to make. The feeling that we were going to have to give up because it kept taking so long was so overwhelming at times, that to not just overcome it, but to feel so proud of this album has really galvanized us as a band in a way that I don’t think any other experience could have.”

As is typical with a new album announcement, the band released new music, but we were treated to TWO new songs from the new album!

“Wildfire” and “Zagreus” open up this new chapter, and what a way to kick it off! Aggressive vocals, insanely catchy melodic vocals and filled with lots of technical riffing. “Wildfire” even sees an incredible jazz section with a great saxophone solo by Jørgen Munkeby, closing out with a symphonic section. “Zagreus” sees a really instrumentally aggressive track.

Periphery V: Djent is Not A Genre tracklist:

1.   Wildfire

2.   Atropos

3.   Wax Wings

4.   Everything is Fine!

5.   Silhouette

6.   Dying Star

7.   Zagreus

8.   Dracul Gras

9.   Thanks Nobuo

Check out the two singles below, as well as the video for “Wildfire”!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: